Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
skybirdforever

Floating Row Cover Questions!

Hi all,

I was going to ask these questions in a month or so, closer to spring planting, but this has come up on b2/Betty's "Big Dilemma" thread now, so I'm gonna do it now!

I've never used floating row covers before, but I've heard they work to keep out leaf miners, which I get, in varying degrees, every year on my beets, and sometimes on my spinach/lettuce. Since the beets are usually pretty badly infested, and I like to eat the beet leaves, I'm hoping to find a better way to deal with the problem besides constantly picking off the affected leaves!

My first question is: How is the "fabric" of floating row covers different from the lightweight (or sheer) Pellon (interfacing) you use for sewing? It sure looks the same in the pictures I've seen of floating row covers, and methinks it would be cheaper to buy a bolt of Pellon than it would be to buy a precut piece in a package that's designated as a "floating row cover!" So, are there any sewers around here who also use floating row covers, and can you tell me if there seems to be any difference?

I know some of you just use it overnite for frost protection, but for leaf miners I'd need to leave it on all day---for a while at least. How much sun does the stuff block out? (I'd be using the sheerest type available.) I'm concerned about that because my garden doesn't get all day sun anyway, and I'm not sure how much more I can block out without doing damage to the plants!

Next question, and this one overlaps with one of b2's questions, do you need to put in any sort of "supports" or hoops to keep the fabric up off of the plant foliage? The pictures I've seen here on RMG look like you just put it down directly on top of the plants! Any opinions as to if one way is better than the other?