Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sister_k

Classes at Denver Botanical Gardens

sister_k
15 years ago

Hello -- I just went online and found all the classes offered at Denver Botanical Gardens. I am pretty new to gardening (containers only as I have no yard) and really love growing herbs for cooking, started some bulbs this fall, and considering growing some tomatoes and other veg this summer possibly.

They seem to have a LOT of different classes on all sorts of topics, so I was wondering who here has taken any classes there, which ones you took, and if there are any specific classes you took that you'd recommend?

Mostly I'm referring to the gardening classes, but they have a lot of art/painting/drawing classes too, which might be fun if I decided to get back into my watercolors. Let me know & thanks for commenting!

Comments (7)

• davies-cc
    15 years ago

Hi sister-k. It's not a direct answer to your question, but I would go to the bookstore or on line and get a book on container gardening. It's what we do in the winter ;-)

• h_geist
    15 years ago

I'm currently boycotting the DBG classes. They charge a $2 fee for registration processing. They cancelled one of my classes, meaning they decided not to have it because they didn't get enough people, and they kept the $2. They told me it is a fee to support keeping up the database they use for registration.

Sure, it was only $2, but I was appalled on principle: they cancel a class and keep some of my money. I got charged for missing out on a educational opportunity through no fault of my own.

Also, their classes are overpriced, even without the extorted money. I took several classes from Christina Bloom, who is excellent, for over $50 each at DBG. She offered the same classes (instructor, content, supplies, etc.) at Cheyenne Botanic Gardens and Tagawa for about half that price.

All that said, I have never taken a bad class at DGB. Some have certainly been better than others, but no duds. H