Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
scholl734

Planting Recommendations

scholl734
15 years ago

I'm new to Northern Colorado...Loveland to be precise.

I'm an avid gardener, but having just moved from Michigan, I'm a bit intimidated by the climate. Does anyone have any recommendations for good heirloom tomatoes that will do well up here...

Also...some nursery recommendations would be appreciated.

Comments (10)

• Dan _Staley (5b Sunset 2B AHS 7)
    15 years ago

Welcome.

I graduated from Warren Mott High (CS Mott at the time).

My recommendations for heirloom tomatoes, aside from the varieties listed on other forums, is to mulch heavily and protect from the wind. Two years ago, we had ~50kt winds for over two hours overnight and awoke to a denuded garden. Your challenges will be these, and providing nutrients to protect from blossom end rot. Otherwise, welcome to the beauty of Colo.

Dan

• Skybird - z5, Denver, Colorado
    15 years ago

Hi Scholl,

Welcome to Colorado  and RMG! I just found something that might help you with your garden center search! Plant Select, a Colorado organization led by Denver Botanic Gardens and CSU promotes different plants each year that do well in the Rocky Mountain region, and I just discovered that they have a list of the garden centers that sell the Plant Select plants. Any of the garden centers that sell (and most of them also grow) the Plant Select plants is probably a pretty good garden center, and would certainly be worth checking out.

I see thereÂs one listed in Loveland, and there are four more in Ft. Collins, so you should be able to find a place you like out of those. HereÂs a link to the site! I think the list will come up alphabetically by city, but if it comes up by name, just switch it to the city listing. You can go to their individual sites to find out more about them by clicking on the links.

If you get down to Boulder, IÂve never been there, but IÂve heard good things about Harlequin GardensÂalso on the list.