Return to the Rocky Mountain Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Beginner Gardener

Posted by sklubritt Wyomimg (My Page) on
Fri, Mar 4, 11 at 0:48

My husband and I just bought a house with as big enough backyard to plant a vegetable garden. I'm a big home cook and can't wait to start using my own produce. However, I have no idea where to begin and the internet does not give me much assistance. What kinds of vegetables thrive the best in this cold, short growing climate? What vegetables do you recommend me planting as a beginner? When should I start? I've read online about starting warmer weather plans inside so I have seedlings to plant after the last frost. Should I or just wait until the last frost for sure?
Thanks for your help!
Kelsey

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Beginner Gardener

Hi Kelsey,

Welcome to RMG!

Yes, you can, and should start some things inside---probably this month sometime, depending on what you're planning to start. You're also early enough to "winter sow" some things, again, depending on what you're planning to start.

Some questions first!

Where are you in Wyoming, and do you know what your zone is? Does your yard have an established garden area, or are you going to need to be turning over a new area and doing some amending of the soil? If you had your druthers, which veggies would you like to grow? Will the garden area have any protection from your Wyoming Winds? Have you grown veggies before, and you're just trying it in a new environment this time, or are you starting from scratch!

There are lots of people around here with good, real Rocky Mountain growing experience to help you as you get started!

Depending on where you are up there, brace yourself for tomorrow's weather,
Skybird

o

• Posted by gjcore 5 South Aurora Co. (My Page) on
    Fri, Mar 4, 11 at 11:52