Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gaia_girl

planting garlic in March

gaia_girl
15 years ago

Hey all!

So, this is my first season planting garlic. I actually bought my seed garlic last fall, and b/c I am a super busy grad student, I did not get a chance to plant last fall.

I am wondering if I can plant in early spring now (I am in Boise). I have some nice beds that get full sun for most of the day.

So, my question is, can this be done? Will I still get a good harvest? Any advice would be very welcome, thank you!

Danielle

Comments (8)

• Dan _Staley (5b Sunset 2B AHS 7)
    15 years ago

Way late. But there's nothing to do but give it a whirl and see what happens, as you wouldn't want to have wasted that money because you are super busy now as well.

Dan

• david52 Zone 6
    15 years ago

I've done it, it will work out, but you'll get smaller heads than would normally be possible. I'd plant it ASAP.

Here, mine was just poking through the ground a week ago, but now, after temps in the 60's, its about 6" high. Snow this weekend.

15 years ago

I've done it too, David, but only once and never again. Mine this year was in the ground late October and up in December (Siberian garlic), but I'm not over on your side (which is sometimes good, but not when I'm looking for a bike ride, solace, quietude, trees...). I keep taking the fam out to look at all the leaves to get them used to fresh garlic and halitosis...

Dan

• elkwc
    15 years ago

I've done it several times with good luck. Of course I have different climate than you do. So can't say how it will work for you. I planted several last fall. But any that are in the kitchen this time of year that shows growth I stick in the ground and always get average size bulbs. If you want them bigger just save them after you pull them. Separate the cloves next fall and plant. Jay

15 years ago