Return to the Rocky Mountain Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Can I plant veggies outside already?

Posted by poppyhead Z5 Longmont (My Page) on
Thu, Mar 20, 08 at 16:08

I was on a mission to find vermiculite today(couldn't find any of course) and found that they were already selling vegetables at the nursery. Brocolli, cauliflower, lettuce greens...

This is my first time ever veggie gardening so I have no clue.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Can I plant veggies outside already?

I'm not sure where Longmont is, so I can't say for sure, but around here, the nurseries start selling plants long before it's safe to plant them. The year I bought my house, I got to plant the garden three times. The first two times, it warmed up and stayed that way for a while, there were plants for sale everywhere, so I figured it must be ok. But we get a lot of late freezes and snows. It seems like every time I try to plant early, I plant more than once and every time I'm patient I could have gotten away with planting early.

o

Usually they start hawking plants at Easter, but this year it is early. I don't start planting until 4/15, and I am in Zone 7, and since you are between Denver & Ft. Collins I would wait until 4/30. The soil needs warmth.

Here is a link that might be useful: Propagating Perennials

o

• Posted by skybird z5, Denver, CO (My Page) on
    Thu, Mar 20, 08 at 19:14

Here's something that might help you get started, Poppy. Not sure where I found this, but it might have been from somebody else here on RMG last year!

If you scroll down to page 4, there's a chart to help with "when to plant for what."