Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
markmahlum

soil

markmahlum
14 years ago

I am hoping to build a raised bed garden in front of and beside my greenhouse. The soils here are garbage, no offense meant to garbage, of course. Would I be wise to buy a couple truckloads of some kind of potting soil or should I make my own.

As a builder, I've purchased a great deal of so called topsoil from this area and none is worth anything.

Would a mix of peat, vermiculite and perlite with some manure make a decent growing medium? What have other Rocky Mountain gardeners done? I wonder if there's even a tablespoon of good topsoil in SW Colorado.

Thanks, Mark

Comments (7)

• colokid
    14 years ago

A person just asked pretty much the same question over in veg. gardens.
    http://forums2.gardenweb.com/forums/load/cornucop/msg031634179281.html?2
    One answer was that if you could afford it, was to use 1/3 compost, 1/3 peat, and 1/3 perlite. For the top foot or so. Fill cheap dirt on the bottom.
    You peat, manure and perlite sound like the same to me.
    Good lick, Kenny

• Skybird - z5, Denver, Colorado
    14 years ago

Hey there! DonÂt you be dissing our "soil!" LOL! And donÂt feel lonely when youÂre digging in it eitherÂgarbage, uh, I mean, "that kind" of soil is what weÂre all planting in! ThatÂs why RMG is great for moral support!