Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
aloha2009

Best Tasting & Easily Grown Tomatoes

aloha2009
12 years ago

I'm new to the vegetable garden world and would like to tip toe into the world since my first love is flowers, flowers, and more flowers.

At this point, I'd like to purchase a plant (no seed), so I realize my options will be more limited. Of the tomato plants that are commonly found at the nurseries.

What in your opinion are the more successful and tasty ones? I love tomatoes and though they aren't the prettiest plants, I feel compelled to find ways to incorporate them into my landscape.

Denver area.

Comments (19)

• mstywoods
    12 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

We love Black Krim. a Russian heirloom tomato. We grew them in California, where they did very well, so we were curious how they'd grow here in Colorado. We've grown them 2 years out here, and they have done great. We tried Brandywines and a few other varieties last year, but still think the Krim's are our favorite all the way around.

Give 'em a try, but think you'll have to start from seed as I don't believe I've seen any in the garden centers out here. I'll be starting my seeds pretty soon, and if I get some extra by the spring swap, I'll bring some :^)

Marj

• mstywoods
    12 years ago

I should add that the Krim is a great eating tomato. But for canning tomato sauce, you might possibly not like them as they do have a lot of seeds and gel. But if you don't mind not tossing most of that part away and having your sauce thinner and with a few seeds included, they work fine ;^)!

I did grow some Roma's last year, that grew and produced really well. But the fruit was a bit mealy/mushy, so I only used those in canning and didn't use for eating fresh. Will have to research what we might do differently with them to see if we can get a better texture.

• digit
    12 years ago