Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kareng_grow

Composter advice

kareng_grow
14 years ago

I've been composting for a few years now and have used the traditional style stand up compost bin. I'd really like to invest in a tumbler style composter but am somewhat overwhelmed by all of the styles and sizes, etc. Our family generates a fair amount of composting kitchen scraps each week so what I pick needs to hold a fair amount. Does anyone have any thoughts or advice on a particular model or company? Any advice is greatly appreciated...

Comments (9)

• Skybird - z5, Denver, Colorado
    14 years ago

Hi Karen,

I had one of the barrel tumblers way back in the early 70'sÂand never got anything useable out of it! Here's one of my comments on the old Reflections on Compost thread:

"One more thing I want to add on the topic of compost! When I lived down in Parker I had one of those compost tumblersÂthe biggest sizeÂand I never got anything useable out of it. Possibly it was just that I wasnÂt tending it well enoughÂor that I didnÂt have enough stuff to put in itÂor that I didnÂt cut up the stuff I put in it well enough, but nothing ever seemed to happen to the stuff I did put in it. I wet it over and over, and it always still seemed dry. I speculated that maybe itÂs just too dry a climate for them to work well, but I donÂt now that for sure. For what it cost me, I considered it to be a big waste of money. IÂd be curious to hear if anybody else has ever had better luck with one of those."

And here was a reply by one other poster about the tumblers. I thought there was another comment about them on that thread, but I couldn't find it without reading the wholeÂlooooongÂthing!

"I had no luck with tumbling, though I had a homemade tumbler made of a barrel. 5 years later, there is still a little pile of stuff in there, perhaps finished by now. :-)"