Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jclepine

H. R. 875, help understanding this bill

jclepine
15 years ago

Hi all. I wonder if anyone can help me understand this bill, H. R. 875. I have been reading/skimming the text but don't really know why people are saying it will be the end to organic farming. I figure that anything Monsanto supports should be scrutinized thoroughly.

I've put a link to the text of the bill below.

Does anyone really understand all this mumbo jumboese?

Thanks,

J.

Here is a link that might be useful: HR 875 text

Comments (7)

• dafygardennut
    15 years ago

It looks like they're having problems at govtrack

They're probably panicking because of the definition of "contaminant" here. I don't really see anything of major concern, but I'm no expert and some people like instigating panic.

Here's what I get

It is separating the "food" aspect of the FDA since it currently has such a huge variety of things to regulate, and leaving them with the Drugs/Devices.

Setting up or tightening up the standards and practices that will be managed under the umbrella of the FSA (Food Safety Admin);

Establishing a registry of every company or organization that has anything to do with the production, processing, handling or storage of food so that when there is an E.coli or salmonella outbreak they can trace it;

Requiring every facility involved to anticipate potential contamination risks and have a plan set up to handle them;

Setting up a timeline of inspections based on the type of facility;

Providing for research, testing, education and training at the state and local levels, and that sort of thing;

...now my brain is hearing the Charlie Brown voices...whaah whaah whawha whaah whawha

hope it helps :-)

Here is a link that might be useful: organic consumers assoc - myth of the week

• dafygardennut
    15 years ago

Below is an interesting discussion about both sides of this issue

Jen

Here is a link that might be useful: blog

• jclepine