Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kristie73

Will the seeds still sprout despite the cold?

kristie73
13 years ago

With the cold temperatures, I'm worried that the seeds I planted a week or so ago are not going to sprout. They hadn't yet and now I'm wondering if it was a waste.

I planted outside, peas, lettuce, spinach, carrots, cucumbers, and pumpkins. I realized after that I probably should have held off on the cucumbers and pumpkins. I still hadn't seen anything sprouting yet though and now we have had cold temps. I should have covered them up! Maybe I should have just waited on them all.

I also haven't watered a lot on my own, because we had been getting rain here and there, but there may have a been a day or two that didn't get water and with all this wind. I hope they didn't dry up. Hopefully that wasn't a mistake too.

I'm still learning. :) I'm worried.

Comments (3)

• digit
    13 years ago

Kristie, I'm not in CS but you may be okay. "A week or so" isn't a very long time, in the spring.

Linked below is information on germination times for vegetables. You can see that it takes a good deal longer for seeds to germinate at low temperatures. Yes, that can cause problems for the seeds; they may begin to decay.

One of the most difficult crops that I grow is carrots. They take so long to emerge and the seed sits just below the surface of the soil. There's lots of time for soil around them to dry out. It is important to keep their seed bed moist.

If you have lost some things, I don't think that you are anywhere near a time when they can't be re-seeded. Keep your fingers crossed and watch to see what happens. And, Here is Wishing You the Very Best of Luck.

Steve

Here is a link that might be useful: Days to Germination, at Various Temperatures, University of Minnesota

• Skybird - z5, Denver, Colorado
    13 years ago

Digit! I canÂt believe it! I just linked that same page over on your soil temps thread!