Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sister_k

How many plants in hanging baskets?

sister_k
15 years ago

Hello, I'm hoping to plant some of my hanging baskets soon. Like everything else, this is my first time planting any baskets. I have some hanging begonia bulbs, and I HOPE to have some WS petunias soon, along with some lobelia, which has sprouted but is prctically microscopic.

Can anyone suggest how many begonia bulbs would go in a hanging basket that is about 16 inches in diameter and 8 inches at its deepest? These are cocopeat lined baskets. These would go in the shade.

Also, once the lobelia sprouts are bigger than the head of a pin, and the petunia sprouts at all -- about how many plants would you suggest should go in each hanging basket?

I'd be glad to hear any suggestions, success stories or disasters about your hanging baskets. Thanks!

Comments (15)

• dafygardennut
    15 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Looks like we need skybird to swoop in with advice :-). I'm in the "cram in whatever will fit" camp and that doesn't work out very well; although thyme worked well until I forgot to water the baskets...oops!

Sneaky, the only indoor plants I have are cacti, a geranium (not the cranesbill kind) and Tilly (it's really tillisandia) that does fine until I try to take care of it.

Jen

• mayberrygardener
    15 years ago