Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nedw_gw

Fast-growing privacy hedge in Summit Co, CO

NedW
12 years ago

I recently bought a home in Summit County, CO, which sits at 9,000 feet elevation, and which, as far as I can tell is in either Zone 4 or 5.

I am in desperate need of privacy on the street side of my property, and would like to have a "green fence" of either a hedge or row of trees. The faster growing the plants are, the better!

I've come across Green Giant trees, and also Junipers, which from what I can tell, might do the trick. I'm new to Colorado, and am a complete novice gardener, so any and all advice is welcome.

Thank you.

Comments (3)

• treebarb Z5 Denver
    12 years ago

Welcome, Ned!

I'm going to have to play 20 questions before making suggestions so bear with me. Your elevation will narrow down the choices. I think you're too high up for the Green Giants, but I might be wrong. Have you seen any in your neighborhood?

What kind of soil do you have? Sandy or clay? What height and spread are the max you could go? Are there power lines, light poles, etc in the area? How wide and deep is the planting area? What kind of colors, textures and shapes appeal to you? I'm thinking you want evergreen for privacy, not something that'll lose it's leaves and be open in winter.
    Is it in a lawn area that will get water?

Fast growing usually equals weak wooded, so you may want to consider a double staggered row, putting the slower growing but longer lasting plants to the streetside and the faster growing on the house side. That way you get the coverage you want and you can remove the weaker plants if necessary when the streetside plants get some growth on them.

I will suggest you go with smaller plants to start. That's been the hardest lesson for me to learn. I know you want instant gratification but smaller plantings go through much less shock and will ultimately outgrow the bigger plants.

This link may help: