Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
containermama

Newbie to CO & Gardening

containermama
13 years ago

Hello! I am fairly new to both Colorado and gardening. This year, I want to make a really awesome container garden. What would you veterans recommend that I start with? I want some veggies, some flowers, herbs and maybe a tree or two.

Comments (9)

• Skybird - z5, Denver, Colorado
    13 years ago

Hi Mama,

How big (including how deep) will your pots/containers be? How much direct sun do you have? Will this be on a balcony or roof, or down on the ground? Where are you located? (And where did you move here from to give us an idea of the conditions you're used to.)

Just need some more info to try to help you! :-)

Welcome to RMG,
    Skybird

• mayberrygardener
    13 years ago

From one Colorado container-gardener to another, let me send out a BIG caution: Colorado is DRY. Now, I would bet you have already noticed that, but your plants will notice it much more. The questions that Skybird asked are key, but also key is how will you water, and how often. I am blessed to have over 90% of my garden in self-watering containers, and even with 4 1/2-gallon reservoirs, the tomatoes and tomatillos need to be watered twice per day in the hottest months. Of course, I could rig a "watering system," but that's just nuts, and believe me when I say it wouldn't be pretty. Another watering item to consider is unglazed versus non-porous containers--the former will evaporate water even faster than plastic or glazed pots.