Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gjcore

How to thin chives

gjcore
13 years ago

This is my first year growing chives. I'm such a n00b. Anyways I've sown some indoors and last weekend outdoors in the herb spiral.

I've googled a fair amount and searched the gardenweb forums quite a bit and haven't found an answer.

The chives and garlic chives indoors that are now growing have about 6-7 seedlings in each dixie cup. Should these be thinned to one plant per container?

Comments (7)

• Skybird - z5, Denver, Colorado
    13 years ago

I recommend leaving them all in one "pot" and calling it one plant, GJ. Then you just cut the top off of the whole thing when you want to use them. If they're planted outside, the plant will get "thicker" each year, but if you start with just one individual little seedling, it would take a long time to get a substantial plant. Even with 6-7 seedlings, it'll take a while to get much of a clump.

Garlic chives, by the way, have much larger foliage than "regular" chives. I never knew that until I got some at a swap one year! If you leave some of the garlic chives flower, they're really pretty---I think! Don't know if they'd flower the first year from seed.

Hope that helps!
    Skybird

• Dan _Staley (5b Sunset 2B AHS 7)
    13 years ago

What Skybird sez.

Dan

• gjcore
    Original Author
    13 years ago

I thought that they didn't need much thinning or none.

What then would be a good density for indoor and outdoor sown chives?

• Skybird - z5, Denver, Colorado
    13 years ago

By "good density" do you mean how many to grow in a pot or a clump? If starting seed, I recommend at least a dozen seeds in each pot--or spot. If it were me, I'd probably start closer to two dozen in a pot. I don't have much patience!

And I've never had much luck with growing them inside in the past--and the same thing happened this past winter.