Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
babysteps_wy

Cucumbers in SW WY

babysteps_wy
14 years ago

I have been thinking about my cucumbers. Since I'm new to the windy praire I have no idea what I'm doing. Here is what I'm thinking. I've considered starting them by seed in the house and then transplanting them in June or direct planting in June. Also I've considred planting them in split bags of potting soil and letting them trellis up the fence. I've lots of fence space and I'm wondering if this will give them some support against the wind once they get going? Thanks and enjoy the sun today. 70 degress here! Loving it.

Comments (7)

• Dan _Staley (5b Sunset 2B AHS 7)
    14 years ago

It'll be support but the wind will still shred the leaves. I direct-sow mine and I did about a week ago, last frost was (hopefully) last Saturday and one is coming up. I used a little cloche over the seed to protect from any frost. Not sure I care for the potting soil idea, esp. if it has perlite, as the stuff gets all over.

Dan

• david52 Zone 6
    14 years ago

I'll start mine in a week or so, indoors, using 2x2x2 inch seedling pots. I use heating mats, so they sprout in a couple-three days, and then I let them go for 2 or 3 weeks, until the first true leaf is well formed, and the next one is on it's way as well. Contrary to popular folk lore, they transplant very easily. I either run them up a trellis, or leave them run along the ground - it's more a question of available trellis space.

Here, my soil won't really warm up until mid-June, and there isn't much use in planting any warm weather stuff out before that - It just won't grow.

If I'm not mistaken, the Wyoming wind will also start to slow down a bit in June.

I've planted cucumber seeds on the 4th of July and still got a good crop, btw.

• dryad58
    14 years ago

Hi Babysteps,