Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sapphire904

Strawberry plants drying up

Sapphire904
10 years ago

Hello there! I just joined the forum and I'm hoping someone might be able to help. I'm new to veggie and fruit gardening. I bought 2 ever-bearing strawberry plants this spring and they were doing great inside. Once I transplanted them, the one's leaves and flowers started drying out. The other was fine until 2 days ago...now that one has some dry, crumbly edges on the leaves. The new growth looks OK, but the plants in general look sickly.

They are growing in containers, with soil and compost, and they've been watered. I have them south-facing outside in direct sun, but it's only been in the 70s here. I put straw mulch on the soil also. Does anyone have any ideas as to why they are drying up already?

I appreciate your help!
Thanks!

Comments (10)

• gjcore
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Did you harden them off?

• david52 Zone 6
    10 years ago

I'm finding that the wind combined with low humidity are the major reasons to harden things off, not so much the temperature and sunlight. This year, I had my tomato plants outside on the east-facing porch where they got the low humidity and breezes for a week before I planted them out, and today we've got 'red flag' weather: 6% humidity, 30 mph wind gusts, and 84 F.

Years past, directly from the greenhouse, the tomato plants would be toast. This year, they're fine.

• Sapphire904
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Well, not really. I put them out during the day after transplanting them, and brought them in at night for about 2 weeks. After the night temps got above 40, I just left them out. I don't know what I was thinking - I hardened everything else. You think that's the problem? Will they recover or will the new growth be OK?

• david52 Zone 6
    10 years ago

They'll be fine as long as the new growth isn't drying up.

• Sapphire904
    Original Author
    10 years ago