Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
conace55

Hardening off (annuals)

conace55
13 years ago

I'm a newbie at growing things from seed indoors, but have found much to my delight that it was relatively easy.

I have snapdragon seedlings coming out of my ears (thanks for the seeds Skybird). Do these need to be hardened off in the same way that tomatoes do?

I assume so, but wondered if they were hardier and didn't need as much time acclimating.

Connie

Comments (6)

• Skybird - z5, Denver, Colorado
    13 years ago

Do they have true leaves yet, Connie? Have you already planted them into bigger pots, or are you about to do that?

Snaps can take a lot of cold! I always have some outside (they just come up all over the place) that are evergreen all winter. Sometimes plants that have bloomed that summer, and sometimes seedlings that have come up late summer. If theyÂve already been potted up for a few days or more, put them out in "some" sun today and then leave them out tonite (in a protected enough place that they wonÂt blow away!) covered with a single or double layer of old sheet. ItÂs only supposed to get into the low 40's, and if theyÂre covered a little, they should be fine. Tomorrow get them in more sun, and maybe cover them again for one more nite. Then put them in lots of sun and leave them out in your "protected place" without covering them. After that itÂs supposed to get colder again, so depending on how theyÂre looking after their introduction to the big wide world, and how cold itÂs supposed to get, either cover them again for a couple of the coldest nites, or just keep them against the house/in a corner/under a deckÂor somewhere that will ward off the coldest temps.

I think after the first three nites out, they should be fine, but I donÂt know just how big they are or the other variables that could affect them. But they ARE very cold "resistant!"