Return to the Rocky Mountain Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Rain and hail on my little sprouts

Posted by Tfour CO (My Page) on
Sat, May 21, 11 at 15:22

We've gotten SO much rain here in Boulder lately, and yesterday I guess there was hail and high wind with it too. Earlier in the week we had just transplanted some starts of chard, spinach and lettuce into the raised bed. Today, after yesterday's storm, they're flattened - wilted, sad, limp.
Is there any chance they'll bounce back? Or should I forge ahead and re-plant something?
Sad day - I'm fairly new at this, and this is the first time we've had this plot.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Rain and hail on my little sprouts

• Posted by jnfr z5b CO (My Page) on
    Sat, May 21, 11 at 16:02

If the growing tip is smashed, it would be better to replant. You should be able to tell within a few days if the plants begin growing again.

Sorry for your baby plant loss. We've all had hail problems at times and it can be devastating.

o

Hi Tfour,

If they're just flattened/smashed down into the soil, very gently lift them to get them unstuck from the surface of the soil and see how they look in a few days. My lettuce and spinach were completely stuck to the soil a couple days ago too. I don't have much, but it looks like it's going to recover at this point.

Welcome to RMG,
Skybird

o

Lots of us on the Front Range had leaf damage. Typical. Usually stuff pops back, and I agree that if the tips are shredded its a goner. I might lose one pepper from last week. But I'll take the rain, if only to lower the drought condition from severe to moderate.