Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
africabound

wannabe vegetable gardener

africabound
14 years ago

I'm new to gardening and new to the board. I'm finding out that I'm pretty far behind for this planting season. I feel like I've missed the boat for half the season already. This past week I planted various lettuces, spinach, beets, radishes, onion sets, cucumbers, broccoli, and cauliflower all from seeds directly sown. I was hoping to do another planting of lettuce two weeks after the first was planted.

I started some tomatoes and peppers indoors the second week of April. They are still pretty small, just getting their first true leaves a few days ago.

I was wondering if I have gotten off to a late start for a few of these vegetables. Any suggestions as to what to plant next? I was hoping to sow some beans and peas either Monday or Tuesday evening; do I still have time for these?

This is my first real vegetable garden and I would really like to enjoy some fruits of my labor but I fear I may have been behind from the start.

Anyone else feel behind?

Comments (9)

• polygonum_tinctorium
    14 years ago

I was hoping to sow some beans and peas either Monday or Tuesday evening; do I still have time for these?"

Yes, plenty of time. If the weather turns hot quickly, the peas might not like it much. But you never know. Beans can get planted when you plant out the tomatoes and peppers.

Gardening is always a bit of a gamble. Plant a lot of things, and something will always do well while something else will always do poorly. But you rarely know ahead of time which will be which.

Other things to plant: When you plant out the tomatoes and peppers, that's a good time for other warm-weather things such as the squash family, basil, corn, tomatillos, etc.

Potatoes can be planted now or later. I don't know how much cold they'll tolerate -- light frost, yes. Heavy snow, I don't know.