Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gjmancini

Hail damage

gjmancini
14 years ago

My roses have taken a terrible hit with last weekends storm, as well as my veggies. Tomatos and beans destroyed, (maybe 1 or 2 plants salvageable. Putting french drains in as we have had terrible basment floods since April. Such unusual weather. Popies are looking beautiful, they were the only thing that wasnt damaged. Imagine that.

Comments (6)

• david52 Zone 6
    14 years ago

Don't give up on the tomatoes. If Once the weather warms up, they can come back from the roots and you'll still get a decent crop. Beans, not so much, probably easier to replant.

For the roses, I'd look at the canes - if they're badly damaged, then prune them off to prevent disease.

Sorry - hail is awful and discouraging.

• digit
    14 years ago

I have very little experience with hail but just wanted to share something about mega-damage to veggies. Severe thunder storms don't seem to build (if that's the right word) a great deal over land that is only about 300 miles from ocean water. Hail happens but not often, here. Now watch, we will have another of our near-tornadoes after having said that . . .

The damage case involved broccoli and rabbits. Several years ago, about 30 plants had literally every leaf chewed. The rabbits did a real number on all of them.

I went out to the garden and "hugged" my broccoli. While I was hugging them, I put a good dose of organic fertilizer on the ground at their base and then gathered up soil and hilled around the plants. I did that to all the plants except one. It was in another location and was overlooked (except by the rabbit).

I think I had the very best crop of broccoli that year, ever! Only that single over-looked plant failed to grow and do anything more than produce a thumb-sized bud. The other plants just seemed to gather their energy and the nutrients, recover and produce.