Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
catnohat

They were great, but now they're gone. What next?

catnohat
9 years ago

This year was my first time growing regular peas. It's true that fresh peas are soooo great, but now they are done. I only did 2, 7 foot rows, but I was happy with them. I can still put in another kind of bean in their place right? Is there time for green beans or sugar snap peas? I want to try soybeans some day, any advice on that?

I'm still kinda new to growing beans. Advice on perfecting the art appreciated!

~Cat

Comments (6)

• gjcore
    9 years ago

Nice looking pea harvest :-)

Plenty of time for beans yet. There's pole beans or bush beans to choose from. If pole beans then you need a tall trellis which may still be in place from your peas. I prefer narrow trellis compared to teepee style because it only takes a few overlooked beans that don't get picked to slow production down.

• digit
    9 years ago

No peas here so those are a welcome sight, Cat! It won't be long - the snap peas are blooming, crazy!

I used to think that I could plant bush beans straight through July. Losing a late planting twice convinced me otherwise. Still, I use July 15th as a drop-dead date. Surprising how well the pods will fill out during the cool wet weather, a week or so before frost!

I 've got so many beans late, I don't plant many early. A very good choice for summer sowing.

Soybeans? Better pick a quick maturing. Mine are up well and have their true leaves!

Steve

• jaliranchr
    9 years ago

I'm with the guys, Cat! Go for it! I've put beans in as late as the last week of June and had a good harvest.

Nice pea harvest!

• Skybird - z5, Denver, Colorado
    9 years ago

I haven't had "real" peas for a few years, and I'm salivating all over the place looking at yours! Fresh, raw peas are one of my Favorite Things!