Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rosie025

Please help this new gardener!

Rosie025
12 years ago

Hi Everyone,

This is my first year planting vegetables in the ground instead of pots, and I have a couple of questions...

-Did I plant my peas too late? I put my winter sowed peas in June 1st, and they looked a little ragged, so I planted some seeds along with them, which have taken off. They have just started to blossom, but will anything come from them?

-I transplanted tomato starts the same time in WOW. I talked to a woman who lives near me and she said she leaves the WOW on for the whole summer. Can anyone see a problem with this? The plants are now just starting to grow over the top of them. All are flowering and some have small tomatoes on them.

-I ended up with a small space which is left empty due to poor planning! Is there anything I can plant there this late, or should I just wait to plant cool weather greens near the end of the summer?

Thank you for any help you can give!!

Rose

p.s. I am gardening in Evergreen, so temps get a little cooler than Denver.

Comments (7)

• Dan _Staley (5b Sunset 2B AHS 7)
    12 years ago

Peas are late. Mine go in sometime in March, have been picking for ~ 2 weeks, maybe 2-3 weeks left.

WOW should come off after last frost so doesn't break down in UV.

You can give bush beans a whirl, otherwise wait a few weeks for fall crops.

Welcome.

Dan

• digit
    12 years ago

Rose, my summer garden environment is a little cooler and the season a little shorter than Denver's. (At least, the part the Weather Service keeps track of ;o).

I think Dan is quite right that beans are your safest bet. I have also had good luck with setting out summer squash plants at this time. This year, I'm also trying some cucumber starts.

The plants have a little bit of a head start but not much of one. If you feel a little adventuresome (careless?) and have the space, you could try dropping a few zucchini seeds in the ground.

Steve