Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bluepenny

Planting spruces in Rocky Mountains 7500'

bluepenny
11 years ago

I have been a half- year resident in the Rocky Mountains at 7500' for several years. I live in Indiana the other half of the year where I have been an native plant garden for over 20 years and pretty much have that nailed. Here is a different universe! My main question at the moment is proper planting and watering of Blue Spruce Trees. And also tips for the most successful spruce at this altitude. Thanks in advance!

Comments (12)

• david52 Zone 6
    11 years ago

Blue spruce will work - they need a fair amount of regular watering for the first three years until their roots are established, but after that, a few good waterings a summer will see them through.

• bluepenny
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thanks David 52 about the watering of spruces - now I'm afraid I might be over-watering them. On one tree the new "fronds" (I have no idea what they are called) are yellowing and a slight bit twisted. They're are a lighter shade than the shade of new "fronds". Is there a way to tell if the trees are being under-watered or over-watered? Thank you in advance. JWD

PS I will gladly accept all spruce suggestions!!

• david52 Zone 6
    11 years ago

I water all my baby trees once a week, tapering off in mid summer to once every two weeks.

For the blue spruce, now that they're 6-8 feet tall, I water them copiously once every 3 weeks.

Those growing tips that are changing color might also be some sort of bug - there's a whole host of bugs that eat the growing tips of conifer trees, at the link is just one.

Here is a link that might be useful: Link

• treebarb Z5 Denver
    11 years ago