Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
matoad_gw

day lilies don't bloom

matoad_gw
17 years ago

Actually some bloom and some don't. All are in sun with little shade. I thin them out but the next year, they come up thick as ever. Question- for blooming, is thinned out better or worse? Or is there another reason for sporadic blooming? Thank you, Mary Ann (from reptile/amphib forum)

Comments (8)

• amester
    17 years ago

I just started doing daylilies in the last couple of years, Mary Ann, but I would suspect that the thinning out is definitely affecting the blooms. Also, are you giving them any kind of fertilizer or compost? I do know that maximum sun provides maximum bloom. I am no expert, but I'd let the clumps go for a couple of years and see how they do. In my yard now the smaller divisions are only sending up one or two scapes, while my thicker ones have easily a half dozen or more. Most don't even have scapes at all yet, I think the screwy weather is making them cranky so I'm just trying to be patient!
    Good luck, which varities do you have?
    Amy

• stevation
    17 years ago

When you say thinning, do you mean you're dividing your clumps by digging up part of them and transplanting them? I'd think that only needs to happen every two or three years. Mine are flowering pretty well right now in zone 6 (Utah Valley), but they get a full day's sun. I don't divide mine very often. Did it once in the past four years. A few are not doing well because they weren't getting enough water, since other plants grew up in front of the sprinkler, but I fixed that last week, and things should rebound now.

• matoad_gw
    Original Author
    17 years ago