Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
susanf123_gw

too late to plant perennial seeds

SusanF123
10 years ago

Sadly my newly planted perennials ( started from seed ) have fried in the last 2 days of 90+ degrees. Is it to late to start again? I was thinking to start in pots and keep them shaded when needed, until they are better established and a better chance of survival.

My front yard is an ugly scene :-( with NO Shade, so it is extremely hot these days. I am desperate to get things growing. I am sure my neighbors would appreciate it also...
Any help / advice would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks!
Susan

Comments (6)

• gjcore
    10 years ago

What are you wanting to start? Do you have a master plan for the front yard? What is the soil like?

• SusanF123
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Yes I have a master plan, but that can be changed. My soil, I am not sure about. There used to be grass, that is all gone now. I have planted and had success with yarrow, liatis, penstemons, catmint,russian sage and salvia. These were not from seeds. This year I was trying some different penstemons, shasta daisy, bee balm, evening primrose, and liatris, but I am open to suggestions on anything that does well here. I did start a Palmer Penstemon last year from seed and it will be blooming soon, can't wait to see it :-) I am in the Springs area.

• Skybird - z5, Denver, Colorado
    10 years ago

Hi Susan,

If you're going to start them in pots you can start perennial seeds anytime. I'd recommend you start them in small pots, when they root to the bottom of those pots pot them up to a slightly bigger size and because of the summer heat grow them in those pots till it starts to cool some, probably in August sometime--by then they should be really well rooted and should transplant easily. Then they'll have all winter to be rooting in well and by spring you probably won't believe how quickly they take off. (Do water occasionally over winter if we're not getting precip.)