Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jclepine

Lettuce seed help, please

jclepine
14 years ago

Well, I've been busy in the garden today!

I Finally planted the lettuce seeds, phew!

Silly thing is, I'm watching them to see when they sprout! yeah, two hours is enough time, right?

I did mark the labels with the planting date so I'll be ready when two weeks is up...so I can welcome the new sprouts!

I'm afraid to water them though, won't I just disturb the area and the seeds??

I decided to put them directly in the tub so now I have to water from above. Do I need to put gravel or mulch on top along the sides of the rows in order to not disturb too much? I only have cedar mulch, is that okay to use? I have an endless supply of pebbles though.

Am I babbling? I've never done this before and I'm real excited about getting these to sprout.

I did follow Skybird's advice and avoided vermiculite. But, that is really all I know about this process.

Thank you!!

J.

Comments (10)

• Skybird - z5, Denver, Colorado
    14 years ago

Never done what before? Babbled??? ;-)

Do you have a watering wand with a "breaker" on it? If you donÂt, you should! If you have one, turn the water on full force, stand back a ways, and move it fairly quickly back and forth over the tubÂpretend itÂs raining on them! If you donÂt have a wand/breaker, IÂm not sure what the best way to water would be.

There are cheaper wands than Dramm, but Dramm is far-and-away the best. The cheap wands fall apart quickly, and the breakers put out a much "harder" spray than the Dramm ones. You can buy the breakers separately, but I recommend getting a long wand to. Just makes watering everything easier. And washing the car too, if you use the hose! Especially for short people! ;-)

If you donÂt have a breaker, find whatever you have that puts out the finest mist and go back and forth over it till itÂs saturated.