Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mary_max

Seed on a Linden Tree

mary_max
16 years ago

Where are the seeds and when should I look for them? What is the small round thing that is on the tree? I saw a ton of them a month or so ago and now I only see a few. I do not see that they fell on the ground. Is this where the seed might be? I want to start one from seed if I could figure out where to get the seed. I know...... be patient with me I am very new at all of this. Thanks

Comments (12)

• digit
    16 years ago

Darn it Mary_max, you shouldn't have to wait forever like you've done on that buckthorn question . . .

Here are a couple of web resources that might help. One is the old tried-and-true USDA site for plants growing in our naturel world. You can search for littleleaf linden, Tilia cordata.

The other, I just came across . . . delightful serendipitous experience thanks to you! The University of Connecticut has quite a lot of info and pictures here.

Until others more knowledgeable respond, I hope this gives you a little something to work with.

digitS'

• stevation
    16 years ago

My linden and others around me are just flowering now, so I don't think there were seeds that already dropped. I'm thinking those round things were the flower buds before they opened. One thing I like about lindens is the sweet, mellow smell of their flowers when they're releasing their pollen. It's similar to locust trees, too. I walked by a linden in downtown SLC a few weeks ago and noticed the smell and the little flowers hanging underneath those light colored leaf-like growths. The one in my yard was a week or so behind the SLC tree, and it started blooming last week. Unmistakably, it's their flowering season right now, so pick one to watch and see how the seeds develop over the next several weeks. Don't pull seeds off while they're green -- they need to ripen on the tree and start to fall off on their own.