Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
westy1941

Lettuce - Plant Now?

Carole Westgaard
10 years ago

I was told today by a rental plot-mate who came to look at my garden that I could plant some types of loose leaf lettuce. I was complaining about the heat and the fact that I now have to wait until Fall to again sow more greens. The spinach and lettuce that's left has bolted already. She said she has planted lettuce in mid-July with success but I've heard from others it's too hot here at this time - this is my first year gardening in Colorado. Anyone know of a heat-tolerant lettuce variety? And where would they be for sale? Love the reds. Also what about collard greens?

Westy

Comments (6)

• digit
    10 years ago

Westy, I do not garden in Colorado so you will need someone there to give you scheduling information. Also, collards hasn't grown well for me. It is Brassica oleracea and those "cabbages" do not grow well as seedlings during the heat of summer. You may be able to find started kale plants and try those. Scotch kale is also Brassica oleracea.

I just set out some lettuce starts yesterday. High temperatures for the foreseeable future will be in the 90's. This has worked for me before. In fact, I only sow lettuce seed in the garden during the very earliest weeks of the growing season. After that, it is transplants.

The cut & come again technique has pretty much been discontinued. The transplants go out as little "bunches" of about 3 to 5 plants. They may be harvested 1 at a time but the idea is to remove all the plants in that group within a short time. More transplants are beginning in a good location in my backyard. Early on, that is my greenhouse. Later, it may just be near the backsteps, in the shade of a tree. They come out of their containers and go out into the open garden when only a few weeks old. Afternoon shade is their friend in both locations.

Steve
    edit: Nevada, a Summer Crisp, and the romaines have grown well for me during the summer.