Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
celtylass

Something is eating my Butterfly Bush

celtylass
13 years ago

My butterfly bushes look terrible. Something is eating away at the leaves. Anybody else have this problem and know what the culprit is?

Comments (16)

• Skybird - z5, Denver, Colorado
    13 years ago

My first guess would be earwigs too, Lass. After beating them down for the last couple years, and starting to think I was winning, IÂve had a terrible resurgence of them this year. I sprinkled some of my granular (lawn type) insecticide around the places where I was seeing the worst damage a couple weeks ago, and it seems to be making a dent in them again. I had been hoping that after using the insecticide for a couple of years, I wouldnÂt need it this year, but I guess I was wrong! Earwigs seem to be in the same category as bindweed! So I guess IÂll just have to keep fighting with them!

In my yard I find they most easily multiply in places where thereÂs wood in contact with the soil, like along the privacy fence and where there are railroad ties bordering the perennial bed. Next most favored places are right along the foundation of the house, the foundation (concrete blocks) of the shed, and under the big rocks I have here and there. They seem to like almost anywhere where they can hide in the tiny crevices between soil and something else! Go out after dark, like Dan suggests, and check the plants that are being eaten with a light of some sort, and IÂm bettin youÂll find earwigs out there, happily chowing down!

Good luck,
    Skybird

• celtylass
    Original Author
    13 years ago