Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sorie6

what is this grass?

sorie6 zone 6b
12 years ago

What is it and how do I get rid of it. It's the light colored one.

I had a little before the rains but now it is thick!! TIA.

Comments (7)

• bpgreen
    12 years ago

I'm not very good at weed ID, but that looks like crabgrass.

• bob_in_colorado
    12 years ago

That looks a lot like a Vanilla Sweet Grass. It can be a very invasive grass and will grow long and seed. Use a weed-b-gon spray (kills weeds, not lawns). Probably came from a neighbor who planted it thinking it was a clumping grass. (Very much like I did 3 years ago.)

• digit
    12 years ago

I've never quite understood how an herbicide could kill monocots (grasses) and not effect Kentucky Blue Grass. A perennial should have just as much of a chance as the KBG in standing up to a chemical - but, I don't suppose that kind of thinking isn't really rational.

If it is crabgrass, Sorie, it is an annual grass. The seeds have germinated not all that long ago and the grass is now becoming apparent.

I have little problem with this grass in my lawn - and, there's no shortage of broadleaf lawn violets and such in with a very old planting of more desirable lawn grasses. Where it does turn up is in the garden and in beds. How the seeds get there, I don't really know. I blame the sparrows but then, I blame a lot of things on the birds.

The most important thing I can do to limit it in cultivated ground is to pull it before it flowers and ets seed. It doesn't have much of a chance in the lawn because the other plants limit annuals. I help them with that by mowing at a higher setting than some others do.

Where I see crabgrass in lawns is where the lawn is clipped very close to the ground. I have a neighbor who does that but he also seldom runs a sprinkler . . . like, next to never. So, his lawn grows next to nothing except a little black medic and knot weed.