Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lesuko

Tomatoes- anyone else having difficulties?

Lesuko
11 years ago

Hello Front Rangers,

I'm still new to gardening but it just seems really hard this year. Diseases setting in early. Fewer fruit setting, some wilting. Can I ask what you're doing to deal with the weather we're having?

I'm at a loss. Water more, fertilize more, spray? We've been watering for 20 mins every other day and are thinking of changing it to every 3 days on 1 gallon drippers. But, on hot days, the soil dries out. It's mulched. I gave 2 tbls of 4-6-2 to each plant last week. I guess you do this every month?

I have black spot, curly leaf and blight on some plants. But, I just picked my first half ripe stupice today and it's spotted with yellow sun dots. I'm curious what's happening with other local gardeners. Wondering what I can do to help my plants along and hopefully survive the season.

Thanks,

Leslie

Comments (16)

• sayhellonow
    11 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Hi Leslie,

I have several kinds of tomatoes growing, and they're looking pretty good here in Utah. However, I did pull up two of them with leaf curl too, and threw them away. I was watering every other day also, and someone said that's way too much, so, like you, I've also decided to water every three days. There was a week when we had temps over 100 every day, so I don't regret watering every day during that period.

Here's what a local garden expert told us: Late in the growing season, cut the tops off the tomato plants because you're just nurturing the plant itself, and not the tomatoes which no longer have time to ripen. So I'll start doing that in 3-4 more weeks. He said also to "stress" the plant a little by watering less, and that tomatoes are really a desert plant.

I don't know if this helps you, but I hope so.

Carolyn

• jeremywildcat
    11 years ago