Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lemonlime_gw

Too late to plant trees?

lemonlime
9 years ago

I know this might be a silly question, but I've searched this forum and don't find much on the topic.

I'm new to Denver, and I have no gardening experience outside of Phoenix and the Bay Area. Definitely feeling out of my element.

I want to plant a Japanese Tree Lilac (Syringa reticulata), and I don't know if I've waited too late in the season. And if anyone knows where I might find one locally, that would be much appreciated!

Comments (7)

• gjcore
    9 years ago

It's not too late to plant trees. I found on this website

http://www.missouribotanicalgarden.org/PlantFinder/PlantFinderDetails.aspx?kempercode=c152

that it "Prefers organically rich, moist, slightly acidic soils with good drainage"

That doesn't sound like Colorado soil.

• Deb
    9 years ago

I agree with gjcore that it's not too late to plant trees. Shoot, you can plant trees well into the fall. Although the Japanese tree lilac prefers organically rich, slightly acidic soils, it actually is "Easily grown in average, medium moisture, well-drained soil in full sun," according to the Missouri Botanical Garden website.
    I like to visit the Denver Botanic Gardens website to see when certain plants bloom in Denver, but when it comes to plant profiles, I find that the Missouri Botanical Garden website is hard to beat.
    Good luck with your tree-planting efforts.

Here is a link that might be useful: Secrets for successful tree planting

• ZachS. z5 Platteville, Colorado
    9 years ago

I have a customer that has a Japanese tree lilac in their front yard. They said they planted it about 15 years ago and it's still going strong. I don't BELIEVE they did anything special with the soil. Though, even if they did, after 15 years, the roots have far outgrown any small amended area they gave it in the beginning and it is now living off of 100% pure Colorado suburban clay.