Return to the Rocky Mountain Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Insecticide soap

Posted by b2alicia zone5 CO (My Page) on
Wed, Jul 21, 10 at 23:35

How often should I apply it?

Before, or after, regular watering?

Better after sunset? or in the morning?

Does it matter how much per plant? I have a gallon sprayer.

I've never done this before, so it's all new to me. I'm also a newbie at growing vegetables . But I would hate to lose my squash plants.

I have read everything I could find, but did not see any answers to the above questions.

Thank you.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Insecticide soap

Hi B2,

Ive been too busy to post, but I did look at your pics, and after I did I noticed that both my squash and my cukes, which are side by side, have what appears to be the same thing you do. I think I may have had some of that every year, but I was never really paying that much attention, so Im not sure. Mine look much more "affected" than yours do. Took a pic, but dont have any idea when I might have time to download it or post it! Probably long after it would be helpful for you.

Im not telling you to not do anything, but Ive never done anything to try to "cure" it on my plants, and I dont intend to do anything this yeareven if I did have time. As long as the plants seem to be growing ok, I just kind of go with the flow! Chances are your squash leaves are gonna have powdery mildew before too long anywayand thats gonna make them look a lot worse than the little spots you have now. About the only thing I do do with my squash is to cut off the old lower leaves when they start to yellow or when theyre starting to get mildew. Ive cut off most of the leaves at times in the past, and it doesnt seem to affect their ability to produce squash at allas near as I can tell. They seem to have the ability to regrow new leaves at an absolutely miraculous rate!