Houzz Logo Print
b2alicia

Insecticide soap

b2alicia
13 years ago

How often should I apply it?

Before, or after, regular watering?

Better after sunset? or in the morning?

Does it matter how much per plant? I have a gallon sprayer.

I've never done this before, so it's all new to me. I'm also a newbie at growing vegetables . But I would hate to lose my squash plants.

I have read everything I could find, but did not see any answers to the above questions.

Thank you.

Comments (3)

• Skybird - z5, Denver, Colorado
    13 years ago

Hi B2,

IÂve been too busy to post, but I did look at your pics, and after I did I noticed that both my squash and my cukes, which are side by side, have what appears to be the same thing you do. I think I may have had some of that every year, but I was never really paying that much attention, so IÂm not sure. Mine look much more "affected" than yours do. Took a pic, but donÂt have any idea when I might have time to download it or post it! Probably long after it would be helpful for you.

IÂm not telling you to not do anything, but IÂve never done anything to try to "cure" it on my plants, and I donÂt intend to do anything this yearÂeven if I did have time. As long as the plants seem to be growing ok, I just kind of go with the flow! Chances are your squash leaves are gonna have powdery mildew before too long anywayÂand thatÂs gonna make them look a lot worse than the little spots you have now. About the only thing I do do with my squash is to cut off the old lower leaves when they start to yellow or when theyÂre starting to get mildew. IÂve cut off most of the leaves at times in the past, and it doesnÂt seem to affect their ability to produce squash at allÂas near as I can tell. They seem to have the ability to regrow new leaves at an absolutely miraculous rate!