Return to the Rocky Mountain Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Nothing at all to do with gardening!

Posted by b2alicia zone5bCO (My Page) on
Mon, Aug 8, 11 at 1:06

Well, just the back porch!

I've been shopping for 6 months for some kind of swing, or glider, to put on my back porch. The new ones at Lowe's and Christie's Sports are so expensive, and very flimsy-looking.

So I finally found what I was looking for on Craigslist... a really sturdy, solid steel, glider built in 1960. Of course, it was all rusted , and didn't swing just right, but I got it anyway. The owner helped me take it all apart so it would fit in the back of my car.

And here it is, in pieces, on my back porch.

Photobucket

Photobucket

So I ordered some cushions on sale from Kmart.com, and sanded, and stripped, and painted the pieces of the old glider.

And here it is. :)
I love it!

Photobucket

Photobucket

The cushions arrived before I finished painting, and I couldn't wait to set it up. ;)

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Nothing at all to do with gardening!

Great find, Alicia!

A good job on refurbishing. And, an appealing choice for cushions.

You did good! Now, enjoy.

Steve

o

yup, they just don't make 'em like they used to! Nice work!!

o

Thanks, Steve!

Thanks, tommysmommy!
Very very true.

o

Fantastic job, b2alicia!! I love those old gliders! That looks very similar to the one my grandparents had. I used to love to swing in it on their porch - theirs had sort of a hoop shape covering over the arm piece, and when it glided back and forth, it would make this sort of 'shoop, shoop' sound. Somehow that just added to the comfort whiling away the lazy summers on that swing!!

Hope you get as much enjoyment out of yours!!

Marj

o

That sounds great, Marj!

I'm trying to picture what the hoop shape looked like...and I like the idea of that 'shoop' sound.

o

Couldn't resist doing a google search for it! There's looked like this, as I recall: