Return to the Rocky Mountain Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
preparing garden for fall

Posted by pureguava Colorado (My Page) on
Mon, Aug 5, 13 at 12:33

Okay, I confess I am a total newbie at in-ground gardening, but I am so happy to have found this forum. I just bought a house in Longmont, CO with a HUGE garden in the back. It is currently completely overrun with weeds and 12 foot tall sunflowers. I am feeling overwhelmed and don't know where to start to prepare the garden for fall. Ideally I'd like to plant a few cold-weather crops like maybe onions and greens. Here are my questions:
1) Can I compost the sunflowers? They are giants and there are a lot of them. I have a tumbling composter and a big heap left behind by the former owner.
2) I'd like the garden to be plantable come spring. Should I mulch or plant a cover crop to keep down weeds?
3) Is there anything I plant in a small sunny corner this time of year that I could harvest this fall?
4) Any other tips for a brand new gardener?
Thanks!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: preparing garden for fall

1) sure - it will be easier if you cut them in pieces, the smaller the better. You can run over them repeatedly with a lawn mower, use a piece of wood with a machete, and chop them, or just use pruning shears and get a great upper-body workout.

2) I'd go with a mulch - cardboard covered with what ever organic matter you can find. I've never had much luck with cover crops.

3) Kale is great. Thats my big fall crop

4) Welcome to the forum! This fall, if you concentrate on killing off the weeds by mulching over them cardboard, leaves, compost, etc. you'll be building the soil at the same time. It may not look all that great, but the result is worth it, IMO.

o

Hi Guava,