Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gaia_girl

Seeding Perrenials in Fall

gaia_girl
15 years ago

Hello!

I have a ton of wildflower seeds (Echinacea, Valerian, Mugwort, Poppies, etc...), that apparently can all be seeded in the fall. I was wondering if anyone has had experience with this, and particularly:

1. When to do it (how late in the season, is it too late now?)

2. How to seed (soil/water conditions, etc...)

3. Care in general (lots of water, mulch in winter, etc...)

And, anything else anyone has to add, it is as usual, greatly appreciated!

Comments (8)

• nancy_in_co
    15 years ago

Hi,

I am not an expert at this but I will take a shot at answering your question. It might spark a little conversation with more gardeners.

I have successfully direct seeded several varieties of wildflowers over the years including Echinacea and poppies. I think the first thing you want to remember is that you want to mimic Mother Nature as much as possible. So if the seeds are starting to drop in your neighborhood from existing plants, you can probably start putting your seeds out now. If the plants in your neighborhood aren't dropping seeds, wait. NOTE: I live in a zone 5 want-to-be location (mostly zone 4 to zone 5) and it is too early here. If you put the seeds out too early, they are going to start growing and chances are, tiny little seedlings aren't going to make it through the winter. I generally put out my direct seeds in late Feb/early March. I still get some cold weather to mimic the cold stage of the seed cycle but I also get the spring moisture.