Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jennifer_darcy

nursery/garden centers in Boulder area?

jennifer_darcy
14 years ago

Hi all,

I'm a novice, can't-tell-the-flowers-from-the-weeds gardener and am hoping to find a good garden center in the Boulder area. In the immediate future, I'm looking to buy a compost bin so we can start composting at our new house. Next year ... we'll tackle a vegetable garden. Either way, I need some local support. :-)

Thanks!

Comments (3)

• ianb_co
    14 years ago

I end up going to Harlequin's Gardens (in N Boulder, on a dirt road off Rte 36 near the Forest Service HQ) for a lot of supplies, particularly organic compost and fertilizers. They have an excellent selection of roses, a good selection of vegetables and herbs in the spring, and a kind of spotty, though high-quality, selection of everything else. (One bonus is that everything is pretty much guaranteed to do well here, which is not the case for many garden centers.) Somewhat expensive. Your best source for excellent advice on growing locally.

I go to Home Depot for landscaping materials, mulch and tools, though I avoid the bottom-end tools they sell, as they often don't survive their first encounter with Colorado clay.

I buy most of my seeds on-line, though some at McGuckin's. McGuckin's is also good for higher-quality tools, though somewhat pricey.

I've also bought plants from the Ute Trail Nursery's stand at the Boulder farmer's market; excellent plants, and their list of tomato varieties is enormous. Almost certainly worth a visit to Lyons, though I've not done so yet.