Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nicole___gw

Another new find: Hibiscus Rose Mallow,Lord Baltimore...

nicole__
21 years ago

I've been gardening here in Colorado for about 20 years and it never ceases to amaze me when I find a plant I SWEAR I've never seen before! Today I purchased a mallow that blooms a HUGE hibiscus bloom. The variety is Lord Baltimore,a solid red,no scent,perennial hardy to zone 5(mulched and planted 4" below soil line like a rose bush!). I don't know if hybridizers are turning up new stuff or if I just missed it the first time it was offered and it's showing up again.......? Anyone have any advice on growing one of these? I purchased two in case one fails.....it's being watered by a sprinkler system and the deer can't get to it......what insects eat it?

Here's a picture if,like me,your not familiar with this variety. N............:0)

http://aggie-horticulture.tamu.edu/Plantanswers/96promotions/lordbalt.html

Comments (29)

• Jwj__
    21 years ago

Hey Nicole,,
    I am familiar with this one,, however in my more northern location it will not overwinter,tried four years finnaly gave up,,,I have used in a few plantings back east at my sils gardens,,the flowers get huge back east,, the few I have ever gotten in my gardens were a much smaller version but just as pretty,,I found these liked their moisture,, they also did alright in containers and full sun if watered frequently,,as to pests,, I never had enything other then earwigs bother it,, they chewed on the flowers ,, that could of been because it was located close to the dahlias whom they love to chew on in my area,,,
    I hope you have better luck with it then I did ,, it really is a beautiful flower when it growes well,,
    jwj

• DannoCO
    21 years ago