Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mstywoods

advice needed on drying peppers

mstywoods
12 years ago

Our Alma Paprika peppers are starting to turn red, and we also have some mild jalapenos, Big Jim and Gypsy peppers. I'm definitely thinking about drying the Alma's so I can then grind them for my own paprika, but might try some of the others as well.

I've never done this before - what's the best way to dry peppers in Colorado? Should I hang them and let them slow dry (one site says to do this in a cool, dark place over the winter), or should I put them outside in the sun, or use the oven, to speed dry them? I don't have a dehydrator, so these would be my only options. With the still intense sun right now, it might not take long if I put them outside in our South facing side of the house - but would like to keep the bugs off of them while doing so, which might be tricky.

Would love to hear advice from you who have done this before!

Thanks,

Marj

Comments (7)

• highalttransplant
    12 years ago

The first year I grew peppers I didn't have my dehydrator yet, so I put a rubber band around the stem, since it will shrink as it dries, a string would allow it to slip off. Then you can use a paper clip or clothespin or something to attach it to a string. I placed mine in the garage, which was out of direct sunlight, but it would have been much faster if I had been able to put them in the sun. I'm attaching a link that explains how to use you oven to dehydrate, as well more air drying tips.

Hope this helps.

Bonnie

Here is a link that might be useful: How to dry peppers

• austinnhanasmom
    12 years ago

I am drying for the first time this year.

I also do not have a dehydrator.

I tied some together on string and hung them in my basement.

Another batch was dried by smoking in my grill for a day and then low oven temp baking for a day.