Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
peterpotato

I'm searching for info on King's Banquet pole snap bean

peterpotato
14 years ago

A woman in the neighborhood has given us some beans and seed from a variety named King's Banquet or Kings Banquet. I wonder if anyone out there has any information about this variety. The bean is absolutely delicious and apparently quite rare, unless it is going by some other name. It has been passed down in her family for generations. I feel gifted to be the latest recipient!

Comments (6)

• david52 Zone 6
    14 years ago

Peterpotato, I see from your bio that you're in the 'hood. I got my seeds from a neighbor as well, the same passed-down story, and I've been growing it now for 10 years, its far and away my favorite bean. Seed Savers Exchange had someone offering seeds some years ago from Cortez. I've done my best to send seeds to other bean connoisseurs, and they all think highly of it. Why, just yesterday I got an email from some guy who was snarfing away at 'em! They also can well, and make great dilly beans.

Re growing it, I plant seed in early June, and then again in early July, and the later catches up with the earlier. It's most important not to let the soil dry out - then they get tough in a hurry. If you can keep the soil moist, they stay tender until they're a foot long, seeds are formed, and the pod is starting to turn yellow - at least 2 weeks hanging there, pick-able and edible.

They get hit with what I *think* is curly top virus, so plant plenty. Once they get hit, the plant doesn't do all that well.

Selling at the market, you'll notice folks who know the bean will clean you out.

Enjoy!

• peterpotato
    Original Author
    14 years ago

david52, I thank you kindly for your response. Are you selling at the Cortez Market? I will be there this coming Saturday morning making music. If I know you are there I'll stop in to see you! What is your farm called?

• david52 Zone 6
    14 years ago