Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
elkwc

Last of onion harvest

elkwc
11 years ago

I pulled the last of my onions except for four that still refuse to die down and moved them to the carport tonight with the chance of moisture over the next few days. This is about 1/3 of my total bulbing onion harvest. My harvest has been strung out since June. Guess it was the weather. The varieties pictured are Bronze D' Amposti and two varieties from Burrell's seeds at Rocky Ford. Burrell's Valencia and Sweet Spanish #6. Jay

{{gwi:1130288}}

Comments (6)

• digit
    11 years ago

That is what I call an onion harvest! Look good enuf to eat, Jay.

Are the big pink ones Bronze D' Amposti?

I've been growing Utah & Walla Walla for quite a few years. Of course, I started with WW but, strangely, the Utah Sweets do better in my garden - here, 200mi north of Walla Walla. Ovation, a hybrid onion, has done quite a lot better for storage and really is a nice, sweet-enough onion. Everything in this family does well for me which is a blessing since I like 'em all and not everything grows well in my gardens.

Steve

• gjcore
    11 years ago

Very nice harvest!

I grew Utah onions this year and they've done well. Started harvesting in early August and still have a fair amount in the ground. Thinking of pulling the rest soon so I can get more fall/winter stuff going.

• david52 Zone 6
    11 years ago

My neighbor, who grows a few thousand onion plants, showed me a trick this year - he intentionally bends the tops over about 2 weeks out from the harvest. Not crushing them over so the stems break, just bends them over flat so there is still some kind of nutrient/water circulation.

The bulbs double in size. He grows Candy onions, and they're routinely the size of small cantaloupes.

Mine do that naturally, and I thought it was a sign that they were done, and time to pull them. I guess not.

• Skybird - z5, Denver, Colorado
    11 years ago