Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
milehighgirl_gw

Planting garlic???

milehighgirl
14 years ago

I just received a garlic order from Seeds of Change that I placed last spring. It came without planting instructions, and the ones I have found on line say, "Plant garlic in the fall, about 6 weeks before the first frost in your area." Well, since we've already had our first frost, what should I do?

Should I plant them in pots and keep them in my garage, or put them in the ground now, knowing they will not be able to start until next spring? How far apart, how deep?

Sorry, but I'm a total newbie with regard to garlic!

Comments (31)

• david52 Zone 6
    14 years ago

I grow lots of garlic, and I haven't planted mine yet - but will over the next 10 days. The idea is to get it in the ground in the fall, water it in so the roots start to develop before the soil gets too cold / frozen.

Loosen up the soil down to about 6" or more, if you have some compost, dig it in. Break the heads apart, plant the cloves flat side down about 5 - 6" apart, 4" deep. If you want large heads, then don't bother planting the tiny cloves, just use the big ones.

Once planted and watered in, I'd mulch the bed with a few inches of leaves, grass clippings, straw, etc. The books talk about frost heave shoving the cloves out, in practice, around here, the problem is the soil drying out over the winter, which the mulch helps prevent.

In the early spring, they'll be up and running, and you'd want to give a good fertilization in early May, I usually soak some home-made compost in a bucket and pour the results all along the row. A side dressing with a high soluble nitrogen fertilizer in early June gives a boost. Be sure to break off the scapes as soon as possible, I do mine just as soon as the white, swelling part shows up. Plan on harvesting in July.

Not rocket science, here. Be sure to save the best looking heads to plant next year, and save on those outrageous prices.....

• kareng_grow