Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tunnymowg

daylilies and iris!

tunnymowg
16 years ago

My mom sent me some of her daylilies and iris in the mail. =D But she and my dad are out of town so it falls to some kind soul here to tell me how to plant them. I can still see some green shoots - do I just bury them up to where the shoots are coming out? Do they want fertilizer now or not? I have zero experience planting anything like this and so they look kind of alien to me. The daylilies have all these funny tentacle-looking roots attached. Do I need to spread all these out?

Comments (39)

• cnetter
    16 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

For daylilies, I was taught to dig a hole, build a little mound in the middle of the hole, spread the roots over the mound with crown just below where the surface of the soil will be. Fill hole and water in. The crown is where the roots meet the leaves.
    For iris, eithe bury the rhizome just below the soil or just at the level of the soil so the top of the rhisome is showing a bit. Some people claim the exposed rhisome will sunburn, but I've never seen that and mine get full sun. Burying iris too deep will cause them not to bloom and the rhisome may rot.
    Both iris and daylilies bloom best in full sun.

I don't fertilize either this time of year.

Here is a link that might be useful: some of my iris

• tunnymowg
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Thank you Cheryl! Your irises are just gorgeous - wow!! Did I see some Siberians in there, or are they all mostly bearded iris? I am particularly interested in Siberian iris...are they as hardy as the bearded/German varieties?

• catladysgarden
    16 years ago

The daylilies would appreciate some compost or well rotted horse manure mixed with your backfill soil when you plant them. I think they will do better if they are mulched. Wood chips are good. Water them regularly as long as the ground is not frozen.