Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bekajoi

So, what grows well for you? What doesn't?

bekajoi
14 years ago

Trying to get a feel for what to plant next year! I'm in the Springs, but figure the region in general can't be *too* different across the board! So! What grows REALLY well for you here? What needs help? What just doesn't work for you no matter how you try?

Any info appreciated! In ground beginner here! :)

Done well for me (containers):

tomatoes

summer squash (needed more room to spread out but did well as can be expected)

herbs: mint (shade!!), thai basil, oregano, thyme

plums: neglected and terribly pruned tree in my new yard is still producing well

grapes: neglected and terribly pruned vine in new yard is still doing well

apples: crabapples and other varieties certainly do well here and with little effort

Did alright, not sure if it was container or area that was the problem:

bell peppers, never really got all that big but DID produce. Aphids loved them too

green beans, some pole variety... needed more room maybe

Didn't do much of anything at all:

cucumbers. I had one teeny sad thing not even baby pickle sized and it was hard as a rock

I'm blanking on any others I tried... I got some pinto beans to grow here, garbanzos did not germinate at all... Add to the list! :)

Comments (7)

• jaliranchr
    14 years ago

Bekajoi, first of all, this was a very odd summer and hard for most everyone in Colorado in one way or another. For every success, there seemed to be an equal failure, for me at least.

You aren't alone with bell peppers not getting big, even in the ground. I gave up several years ago and just grow non-bell sweets. That saves me a lot of frustration. :)

I have grown summer squash in containers but gave up on that because they just don't have enough room, so they have their own bed when the hail leaves them alone. :)

Just my two cents. Don't you dare give up! :)

• digit
    14 years ago