Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
digit_gw

is it because they are usually pink or purple?

digit
15 years ago

Continuing my messing around (& messing up) with pictures, here are the last flowers from the cutting gardens taken about 10 days ago. You can see the asters I'm talking about here behind the buckets of dahlias. (Actually, there was one more cutting but only snaps and China asters.)

Why don't I see more China asters in yards? Is it because they are usually pink or purple and bloom in late Summer and Fall?

I'm not too good with "seasonal color" choices but I think most folks are really missing out. The seed usually comes in mixed colors. Apparently, China asters aren't the most "true to type" plants. Nevertheless, there are a few reds that may fit in with Autumn schemes. And, the plants couldn't be much easier to raise.

For August & September flowers, I start the seed in the greenhouse but for October blooms, the greenhouse isn't necessary. China asters do seem to appreciate transplanting, however. The transplants are always larger than if they are direct-seeded into the beds in June in my garden.

Starting out can be a simple process during mid-June. The seed is started indoors in a shallow container, moved into a protected outdoor location, then the seedlings are transplanted into 72 cell flats and allowed to grow until they fill the cells.

I actually thought of posting something about asters right after I took this photo last week. So, I rearranged the buckets with the asters in front. Unfortunately, I then took a picture that is distressingly out of focus. This one was a little better: