Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
azura06

Autumn Joy Sedum

Azura
16 years ago

This is my first year with the tried and true garden staple, Autumn Joy Sedum. I bought a few this fall and stuck them towards the back of my main bed. They looked fine for about 2 weeks before they turned an ugly yellowish color. Is that a normal reaction to the first frost or have they died because of transplant shock? Nothing else has died except my gladioli and morning glories.

I can post a photo if that helps.

Thank you

-Azura

Comments (25)

• highalttransplant
    16 years ago

Mine have already turned yellow and started dropping leaves. I think that yours are probably fine. Look at the base and see if there is any new growth. Most of mine form little rosettes in the fall that are next years stems.

Bonnie

• Azura
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Thank you, Bonnie. I didn't even think to look for the buds, they were there when I planted the plants. I'm tempted to go check right now with a flashlight!

• Skybird - z5, Denver, Colorado
    16 years ago

Yeah! Just to second what Bonnie said! The upright sedums are always one of the first thing to freeze in fall. If yours have dried flowers you want to leave on for winter interest, don't do anything to them, but if they don't have any dried flowers, I recommend cutting them down to the ground which will help promote even more of the little "rosettes" in preparation for next spring. It's always been a mystery to me why the leaves on the stems freeze so quickly, but the little rosettes do just fine all winter!

Skybird

• cnetter
    16 years ago

If you don't see the rosettes, don't worry too much. They'll still come back. Some of my new tall sedums don't have rosettes yet. Or the tiny rosettes are just under the soil. Either way, by spring they'll have them.