Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ryeldenver

Seed selection for '10

ryeldenver
14 years ago

Greetings gardeners, I've been reading the forum here for awhile absorbing all the awesome insights and enjoying everyone's posts. Great group!

Last summer was my family's first time planting a garden and while mistakes were made, we had a blast growing our food and are totally hooked now. We've expanded our garden space x3 for the upcoming season and just did our manure runs today. Waiting for warmer weather to till and lay some compost down.

Since I'm a bit of a novice when it comes to selecting seeds - especially for our Colorado climate - I was hoping to get a bit of feedback on our seed selections for this coming season. We're trying to do all open-pollinated seeds and been combing through seed sites trying to pick some easy and tasty varieties, but just not sure if everything we've selected is suitable to our climate and soil (we live in Denver).

So any feedback or recommendations for alternative varieties would be most appreciated! Thanks and sending warm thoughts to everyone.

Ryel

Bush Beans - Provider

Broccoli - DiCicco

Carrots - Scarlet Nantes, Danvers

Cucumber - Straight Eight or Marketmore

Kale - Italian Nero Toscana

Endive/Frisee - Tres Fine

Lettuce - Buttercrunch, Salad Bowl, Red Sails

Peas - Sugar Snap

Bell Peppers - California Wonder

Radish - French Breakfast

Tomato - Celebrity, Gold currant, Brandywine

Watermelon - Sugar Baby

Potato - Yukon Gold, Norkotah Russet

Garlic - Music Stiffneck

Onion - Valencia

Spinach - Bloomsdale

Raspberries

Blackberries

Basil - Genovese

Rosemary

Thyme

Chamomile

Lavender

Comments (9)

• Dan _Staley (5b Sunset 2B AHS 7)
    14 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Looks pretty good from here, Ryel, a few miles east of you.