Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gbebeh

newbie questions on novice entries

gbebeh
15 years ago

I'm a rose gardener who has gotten more serious this year.

I would like to try entering a local rose show this spring in the Novice hybrid tea category. I'm very new to all of this so my question is would any of these varieties be acceptable to enter? My best HTs that have very good blooms are:

Barbra Streisand

Black Baccara

Brandy

Pearl Essence

Pope John Paul 2

Bob Hope

Double Delight

Chicago Peace

The McCartney Rose

I know that Gemini and Moonstone are great exhibition roses but I don't have any of those. If I had a really great bloom would it be acceptable to enter any of these HTs?

thanks, gbebeh

Comments (6)

• diane_nj 6b/7a
    15 years ago

Get a copy of the show schedule. Some shows group all novice entries together into a single class, some shows separate them into separate classes (Novice HT/Grandiflora, Novice Floribunda/Polyantha, Novice Shrub, Novice Mini/Mini-Flora, Novice OGR). You can enter any variety into a class, as long as the entry fits the class description. For example, if the novice class says HTs/Grandifloras only, then you can enter any HT or Grandiflora into that class. But, you can only place one entry of each variety (you can't have two entries of Brandy in that class).

You would do best if the entry meets the usual criteria for HT entries (see the link below). But, don't be scared away. And, the fresher the entry, the bettter.

And, nothing stops you from placing an entry in the other, non-novice, classes, if the entry is really good. If you have two really good potential entries of Brandy, you can put one in the novice class and one in the non-novice class.

There are usually a few folks around who will help you with your entry, just ask.

Here is a link that might be useful: How Roses Are Judged by Robert Martin

• gbebeh
    Original Author
    15 years ago