Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
zionadams

Any advice for 1st time county fair entrant....

zionadams
17 years ago

I'm going to be entering our county fair, if possible, during 110' weather. I probably won't have the option of picking a rose favorite, just from the best of the current blooms.

How do you get your roses to 'flush' during hot months, or will it to stress the plants?

What vessel do you prefer for show? A crystal vase? Clear?

Do you use 1/2 open buds or full-opens?

I'm new to this but committed. Please offer whatever advice you can!

Comments (2)

• petaloid
    17 years ago

Your question is a good one, but the answers could fill a book. A favorite of mine is "Showing Good Roses," by Robert B. Martin, Jr. which has comprehensive advice for growing and exhibiting in the U.S.

You really need to get a description of the categories in which you may enter roses. Even in a county fair you will probably need to know the names of the varieties you bring to enter.

Most people posting here are involved in American Rose Society accredited shows/competitions, which are quite different from the rose section in a county fair.

In ARS shows only home-grown roses are entered, we label each with the variety's officially registered name, there are specific rules and procedures for judging and there are many different "classes" (what we call the categories) and prizes.

I know in our county fair you must bring your own vases -- thrift stores usually have a selection of glass vases for sale at low prices. (In our shows, the hosting rose society provides vases in the preparation area that exhibitors may borrow, so we don't need to bring our own except for certain challenge classes and rose arrangements.)

I'd guess the fair would have a prize for best "exhibition form" bloom (half to three-quarters open but with center petals still in a tight spiral) in an ARS show it would be entered in a clear bud vase with a long stem and lots of foliage showing.